Diamond Retailer Scorecard

Price is only half the decision. This scorecard compares the 10 retailers Facet Wire tracks on the policies that decide what a diamond really costs you later: shipping, returns, warranty, upgrade and trade-in programs, price matching, and free resizing. Every entry is summarized from the retailer's own published policy pages — checked October 18, 2026.

The scorecard

RetailerShippingReturnsWarrantyUpgrade / trade-inPrice matchFree resizing
RitaniFree shipping in the U.S.: FedEx Overnight on orders of $1,000 or more; below $1,000, free FedEx 2-Day or Overnight Priority for $24.95. Fully insured; signature required. Return shipping is also free, with free return insurance (U.S.).30-day return policy on eligible purchases, with free return shipping and free return insurance in the U.S. (limit of 2 returns/exchanges per customer per year). Custom, eternity, engraved, and special-order items are final sale, with stated exceptions for engagement rings and wedding bands. A $200 recertification fee is deducted if the original grading certificate is not returned.Lifetime warranty on engagement rings and wedding bands, covering manufacturing defects only (registration required; wear-and-tear not covered; jewelry other than those rings is not covered). Includes complimentary cleanings for life and rhodium plating once a year (you pay shipping). A paid JM Care Plan is sold separately (3-year or lifetime options) covering wear-and-tear and maintenance.Diamond Upgrade Program: 100% credit on your trade-in toward a new Ritani diamond at least 3.5x greater in value than the original (the multiple rose from 2.5x on November 14, 2024). Natural (earth-grown) diamonds only — lab-grown diamonds are not eligible. The diamond must be in original condition with its grading report returned in reusable condition; U.S.-shipped purchases only.Yes — Ritani offers a price match on qualifying diamonds when the same diamond is available elsewhere with the same grading report and certificate number; its Services page also states that if you see a competitor's diamond priced for less, it will attempt to find a similar diamond at a lower price.One free resizing within the first year of purchase for engagement and wedding rings (eternity bands and alternative metals excluded); U.S. and Canada residents only.
Blue NileFree FedEx shipping on every U.S. order, no minimum — Priority Overnight on orders over $500, 2-Day at or under $500. Fully insured; signature required over $500.30 days from the shipment date, in original unworn condition, for a full refund or exchange. Two complimentary (free, fully insured) returns per customer per year; an RMA number is required. Personalized, custom, engraved, resized-after-purchase, Diamond Upgrade Program, clearance, and Final Sale items are not eligible. Replacing a missing grading report costs $150.Limited Lifetime Warranty, included, for eligible jewelry — gold and platinum pieces priced at $1,000 or more — against manufacturing defects for as long as you own them: repair at no cost, or replacement/merchandise credit if irreparable. Does not cover pearl, silver, or alternative-metal jewelry, lost or damaged diamonds and gemstones, misuse, normal wear and tear, or loss/theft; third-party repairs void it.Lifetime Diamond Upgrade Program: credit up to 100% of the original purchase price for IGI- or GIA-graded colorless diamonds bought from Blue Nile — lab-grown or natural, like-for-like — toward a new diamond priced at least twice the original. The original grading report must be returned in reusable condition; U.S.-shipped purchases.Yes — Diamond Price Guarantee for certified loose colorless diamonds, applied before purchase: Blue Nile will typically match a comparable diamond's lower public price. The competitor stone must match on carat, clarity, color, cut, fluorescence, symmetry, and table/depth, carry an original grading report from an approved lab issued within the last 2 years, and be in stock at the actual retailer (not a marketplace aggregator). Astor by Blue Nile diamonds excluded; one diamond per customer.Eligible rings receive one free resize, up or down two sizes, within 6 months of purchase, if the design permits. Eternity, tension, alternative-metal, milgrain/ornate, and some silver rings cannot be resized.
WhiteflashFree insured FedEx shipping on all orders, in the U.S. and to over 70 international destinations. Domestic delivery is normally FedEx Second Day (Mon–Fri) to an authorized FedEx Hold-for-Pickup location; photo ID and signature required. Saturday delivery available for $50.Money-back guarantee: 30 days for Whiteflash branded natural diamonds (A CUT ABOVE, Expert Selection, Premium Select) and regular catalogue items; 10 days for lab-grown diamonds, other non-branded natural diamonds, and non-catalogue items. Custom-made or altered jewelry (other than normal sizing) is not returnable.No lifetime defect warranty: included is a One Year Service Plan (from ship date) covering refinishing and repairs to metals and accent diamonds resulting from normal wear or manufacturing defects — materials, labor, and handling covered, but shipping and insurance to and from Whiteflash are the customer's responsibility; damage or loss to certified diamonds and colored gemstones is not covered, and the plan is void if another jeweler has worked on the piece. A paid Ultimate Care Plan (JM Care Plan, Inc.; 3-year or Lifetime options) is sold at checkout.Lifetime Trade Up, for A CUT ABOVE diamonds only (Expert Selection, Premium Select, lab-created, and other/sourced diamonds are excluded). Trade at any time for another single A CUT ABOVE diamond of at least 50% greater value; credit is the full purchase price of the original (or normalized to current market), less original shipping and any discounts applied. The diamond must be returned undamaged with its original lab certificate; shipping and insurance to send it in are the customer's responsibility.No guaranteed price-match policy is published. Whiteflash's FAQ states its pricing is designed to be highly competitive and that 'while we may not always be able to match the price, we would love to talk to you about it.'One complimentary sizing within one year of the purchase date on most rings; labor, materials, and handling are free, but shipping and insurance to and from Whiteflash are the customer's responsibility. Certain designs cannot be sized or have limited ranges.
With ClarityFree insured FedEx 2-Day (U.S./Canada/U.K.); Overnight available for $40. Signature required; loose diamonds typically ship in about 11 business days.30 calendar days from receipt. U.S. returns are free (prepaid label and return insurance); a second return is store credit only or carries a 20% restocking fee. Missing certificate: $300 re-certification fee. Custom, personalized, and multiple-loose-diamond orders excluded.Lifetime warranty included, but limited: lifetime cleaning and replacement of stones under 0.10 ct lost in everyday wear; center stones, damage, loss, and theft are not covered. A broader Clarity Commitment Protection Plan is sold separately (its 'Lifetime Plan' runs 10 years).Not publishedNot publishedOne free resizing within 30 days (U.S. orders pay a $25 one-way insured-shipping fee; eternity rings cannot be resized).
Frank DarlingFree insured FedEx — 2-Day Air under $2,000, Next Day Air over $2,000. Signature required.Full refund within 30 days of ship-eligibility or 60 days from first payment, whichever comes first. Unworn with original documentation; U.S. return shipping included and no restocking fees. Missing certificate: $250 fee; custom-cut stones carry a $500 restocking fee; one return per customer per 6 months.Lifetime warranty against manufacturing defects (center stone excluded; third-party servicing voids it). An included complimentary care plan covers polishing, prong tightening, steam cleaning, and re-dipping on engagement rings and wedding bands.Yes, for natural GIA-certified diamonds (D–J color) bought from Frank Darling only: 100% of the original diamond price as credit toward a diamond priced at least 2× the original. Lab-grown diamonds are not eligible.No — Frank Darling states it has discontinued its Price Match Guarantee.One free resizing within 90 days of the ship date for U.S. engagement rings and wedding bands (later resizes $100 plus shipping).
Brian Gavin DiamondsFree FedEx Priority Overnight (50 states) on orders of $5,000+; free 2nd Day on $1,000–$5,000. In-house loose diamonds ship within about 48 hours; packages are held at a FedEx station for pickup with photo ID.15-day inspection period from delivery on diamonds and jewelry; hand-engraved, bezel-set, and custom items are final sale. (Return-shipping cost not stated on the pages checked.)Lifetime warranty against manufacturing defects on Brian Gavin jewelry (void if the piece is worked on by a third-party jeweler). No separate paid care plan terms published on the pages checked.Lifetime Upgrade on Brian Gavin Signature diamonds only: 100% of the original price (less shipping and tax) toward another Signature diamond, with the new purchase adding at least 50% on top (e.g. $1,000 toward a $1,500+ diamond). The certificate must be returned ($250 fee if missing or damaged). BG Premium Lab stones upgrade at current market value; natural-to-lab trade-ins are not offered.Not publishedNot published
Ada DiamondsFree fully-insured FedEx 2-Day on orders up to $10,000; free Priority Overnight over $10,000. Signature required; loose diamonds ship in 1–3 business days.30 days from receipt. The insured return label is not free — $50 domestic (from $75 international) — and a 20% restocking fee applies to loose diamonds, website items, and paid-in-full items.Lifetime Diamond Guarantee included free (diamonds guaranteed not to fade, cloud, or change color, with a trade-in remedy), plus a separate 2-year jewelry warranty covering manufacturing defects and normal wear-and-tear repairs at no cost. No paid extended plan stated.Lifetime Trade-In: 100% of the original diamond price as credit for IGI/GCAL/AGS/GIA diamonds of 1.0 ct+ purchased from Ada on or after March 1, 2025, toward a new diamond costing at least 1.8× the original.No — Ada Diamonds states it does not price match other retailers.One free resize within 12 months of receipt ($75 after; non-N.Y. customers pay $75 insured round-trip shipping for resizing). Eternity and 4mm+ masculine bands excluded.
MiaDonnaFree insured FedEx 2Day in the U.S., signature required; Overnight available at checkout for an extra fee. Made-to-order pieces take about 2–3 weeks before shipping.Free 60-day returns from the original shipment date — free FedEx return shipping, no restocking fees. Items must be unworn with the tag attached; custom and special orders refund to store credit only.Lifetime Manufacturing Warranty included with every purchase at no cost — material and workmanship flaws are repaired, remade, or replaced free. Wear-and-tear, trauma, and loss/theft are excluded. No separate paid plan stated.Diamond Upgrade Program: any MiaDonna lab-grown diamond can be exchanged for credit equal to its original purchase price toward a new lab-grown diamond of at least 2× the value (grading report required; setting fees extra).Not publishedOne free resizing (up to one full size) within 90 days of shipment, with free shipping both ways; after 90 days, $100 (gold) or $120 (platinum).
Friendly Diamonds
Policies below were verified on Friendly Diamonds' UK customer-service pages; U.S.-specific versions were not separately verified.
Free shipping worldwide on all orders. Production and shipment take about 2–3 weeks, then typically a 2-day insured service; adult signature required.30-day no-questions returns for a full refund; return shipping is free within the U.K. only (customers elsewhere pay). Deductions apply if the item is worn (£375), a certificate is lost (£115 each), or engraving/appraisal items are missing (£37).Free lifetime warranty against manufacturing defects on made-to-order and custom products (wear-and-tear, lost stones, and third-party repairs excluded).Lifetime Trade-In and Upgrade: credit equal to the original purchase price ('Friendly Credits') toward a new product at double the credit value; credit must be redeemed within 7 days, on one new item, and each item can be upgraded only once. Bespoke items excluded.Not publishedOne free resize within the first 12 months (up to 2 sizes), with free two-way shipping within the U.K.; eternity rings cannot be resized.
VRAINot free in the U.S.: FedEx 2Day is $10, Overnight $50 (non-refundable). Loose diamonds ship in 1–4 business days; signature required.30 days, with free return shipping in the U.S. Items under $15,000 refund to the original payment minus a recycling fee ($300 engagement ring / $50 wedding band or made-to-order), waived for full store credit; items over $15,000 are store credit only.Lifetime warranty included — diamonds warranted for their certified grades, rings and jewelry against manufacturing defects (U.S. evaluation requires a refundable $50 shipping/evaluation deposit). Accidental damage is not covered; a separate paid Extend protection plan is offered at checkout.Lifetime Diamond Upgrade / Value Guarantee: full credit equal to the original diamond price toward a new stone or jewelry valued at twice the original. Detailed terms limit eligibility to certified unique solitaire diamonds of 1 ct+ from VRAI's Diamond Inventory in a VRAI setting, original purchaser only.Not publishedOne free resize up to one full U.S. size (VRAI's pages state no time window — its Lifetime Care Package phrases it as available at any time). Eternity and infinity bands cannot be resized.

Policies summarized from each retailer's published pages on October 18, 2026; verify on the retailer's page before purchase — the retailer's own terms are the final word.

How to read this scorecard

“Not published” means the retailer's own policy pages did not state a policy for that row when we checked — not that the retailer never makes an exception. We would rather show a gap than fill it from a review site.

Included vs. paid: warranty entries say whether coverage is included with the purchase or sold as an add-on plan. Upgrade entries state the spending multiple the retailer requires (for example, a new diamond at 2× the original price) because “100% credit” means very different things under different multiples.

Summaries, not contracts: each cell compresses a full policy page. Exclusions and edge cases live in the source pages linked below.

Neutrality: retailers cannot pay to change a scorecard entry, its wording, or its position. Any sponsored placement on this page is labeled “Sponsored” and sits outside the table.

Sources

All sources are the retailers' own pages, checked October 18, 2026.

Scorecard questions

Which diamond retailers offer free returns?

MiaDonna (60 days, free return shipping), Blue Nile (30 days; two complimentary insured returns per year), Ritani (30 days, free return shipping and insurance in the U.S.), Frank Darling (30 days, U.S. return shipping included), and VRAI (30 days, free U.S. return shipping) publish free returns. Whiteflash publishes a money-back guarantee — 30 days on its branded natural diamonds and catalogue items, 10 days on lab-grown — but its policy pages do not state whether return shipping is free. Ada Diamonds charges $50 for its return label plus a 20% restocking fee on loose diamonds, and Friendly Diamonds' free return shipping is U.K.-only.

Which diamond retailers have lifetime upgrade or trade-in programs?

Nine of the ten retailers Facet Wire tracks publish one — With Clarity is the exception, publishing no upgrade terms. Most require the new diamond to cost more than the original: Ritani requires at least 3.5× the original's value (natural diamonds only); Blue Nile, Frank Darling, MiaDonna, Friendly Diamonds, and VRAI require about 2×; Ada requires 1.8×; Whiteflash (A CUT ABOVE®) and Brian Gavin Signature require at least 50% more.

Do diamond retailers price match?

Two of the ten publish a formal program. Blue Nile's Diamond Price Guarantee matches a comparable certified colorless diamond's lower public price when you apply before purchase (same specs, an original grading report from an approved lab within the last 2 years, one per customer). Ritani offers a price match on qualifying diamonds — the same diamond with the same certificate number listed elsewhere. Frank Darling states it has discontinued its Price Match Guarantee, Ada Diamonds states it does not price match, and Whiteflash publishes no price-match guarantee.

Which diamond retailers include a lifetime warranty?

Ritani (engagement and wedding rings), Blue Nile (gold and platinum pieces priced $1,000 or more, as a limited lifetime warranty), Frank Darling, Brian Gavin, MiaDonna, Friendly Diamonds, and VRAI all include a lifetime warranty covering manufacturing defects. Whiteflash instead includes a One Year Service Plan, with a paid Ultimate Care Plan sold separately. With Clarity's included lifetime warranty is narrower — cleaning plus replacement of stones under 0.10 ct — and Ada pairs a lifetime diamond guarantee with a 2-year jewelry warranty.

What does “Not published” mean on this scorecard?

It means the retailer's own policy pages did not state a policy for that row when Facet Wire checked on October 18, 2026. It does not prove the retailer never makes exceptions — only that no policy is published.